Monitor

Case Number: S-0606218305

Date: 6th June 2021

Incident: Suicide (Suspicious Death)

Reporting Officer: ED Monitor Walter Tyler

Address: 23 Park Crescent, Zone 6

At 2336 hours on Tuesday 6th June 2021 I arrived at the address of Officer Lucy Powell after reports of a gunshot. The front door was locked with no signs of forced entry. The lower floor was empty. Scientific Support Branch arrived at 2340 hours and we proceeded upstairs.

Officer Powell’s bedroom door was ajar. Inside, she lay upon the bed with a Glock 17 pistol in her right hand. She appeared to have committed suicide, the bullet passing through her right eye. Blood spatter on the bed and wall indicated she had been seated at the foot of the bed when the shot was fired.

A handwritten suicide note was found at the scene on top of the dresser. Some of the ink was smudged with what I speculated at the time were teardrops.

A request for the area timemap initially showed that Officer Lucy Powell was alone at the time of the incident. However, Crime Scene Analyst Michael King identified an irregularity in the timemap. I gave King ED clearance to analyse the timemap and he confirmed that PDA GNSS had been disrupted between 2300 and 2330 hours, leading me to treat the death as potentially suspicious.

U+1F441

7th June 2021

It’s been a long night. I investigated the death of Lucy Powell, Lucy who I used to work with. I haven’t seen her in years. Haven’t spoken to her since she congratulated me on joining ED, and now she’s dead. It looked like a suicide. Or at least it was made to look like one. I don’t know, maybe I’m just in denial. Maybe I’m in shock. Fucking hell. Lucy.

I read her suicide note. I stood there by her body and read her suicide note. God, I’m a fucking mess. Maybe that’s it, I just can’t accept it. There’s something about suicide that just makes me feel cold and dark in the pit of my stomach. Or is that intuition? I don’t fucking know.

Her husband died a few weeks back in a car accident. She was depressed. I heard about it and I went to call her but I just, I don’t know, I didn’t know if I could help. I should’ve called her.

But I still can’t imagine Lucy killing herself.

It’s 6am now – light outside and I can hear all the people getting up and going to work. I bought a pack of cigarettes after I was done at the station. I’ve just sat and smoked and smoked. I can’t get the image of Lucy out of my head.

There was something wrong with the timemap. We won’t know what until there’s a full analysis. Some ‘disruption’, the grunt said. I’ve heard solar storms or whatever can fuck with the GNSS signal, but what are the chances?

It sounds so stupid when I write it down. I treated the death as suspicious in my report but fuck is that just because it’s Lucy? The note was in her handwriting. She had the gun in her hand. She was depressed.

I need to stop thinking about it. I need to get some sleep.

U+1F441

13th June 2021

They’ve closed the case. According to them, Lucy Powell committed suicide. I asked about the timemap disruption and they said it was not being treated as suspicious, that such disruptions were common and meaningless.

I don’t like it. Something doesn’t quite fit. There’s something nagging at me. If the case is closed then fine, but I can still check into a few things. I need to talk to Lucy’s friends, see if they can tell me about her mental state leading up to the incident.

And I need to speak to the grunt – ask about the timemap.

In the meantime, I’ll have a look over the reports. I don’t think I’ll find anything strange or suspicious, I think I just need closure. Lucy was a friend, maybe this is just part of the grieving process, I don’t know.

I shouldn’t of bought those cigarettes, I’ve been smoking like a chimney ever since.

U+1F441

Dear Miss Williams,

I’m so sorry about Lucy. I worked with her back when I was with the territorial police. She was a wonderful woman and a wonderful officer.

I was wondering if you could help me with my investigation. I hadn’t seen Lucy for many years – too many – but the Lucy I remember was strong, she was not the type of person to give in. How had she seemed to you since her husband passed?

I hope I am not intruding or causing you distress with this letter – I write as both a friend and a colleague of Lucy.

Please write to me at my home address:

55 Walton Road,
Zone 3

Yours truly,

E.D. Monitor Walter Tyler

U+1F441

Dear Mr Tyler,

Thank you for your condolences.

We’re all shocked and devastated at the loss of our dear friend. We did not think Lucy would be capable of taking her own life. She was the strongest woman I knew, even after Patrick died.

It feels strange talking about her in the past tense.

I was quite surprised when you contacted me. We were under the impression that Lucy’s case was closed. Have there been any developments?

If you need anyone to talk to, please call me on the number below. The date of her funeral hasn’t been decided yet, but I will be sure to let you know. Lucy used to speak very highly of you, she said you were an honest and respectable man, I hope that gives you some comfort.

Yours sincerely,

Alice Williams

07676821220

U+1F441

Dear Michael King,

I am contacting you regarding the timemap irregularity you identified at the Lucy Powell crime scene on the 6th of this month. This is strictly off the record. What is your professional opinion on the matter? Do you know what caused the disruption?

Please contact me immediately by way of letter at the address below.

55 Walton Road,
Zone 3

Regards,

E.D. Monitor Tyler

U+1F441

17th June 2021

I’ve been suspended. I don’t know if Alice spoke to someone or the grunt reported me or if our letters have been intercepted, but somehow Wilson knew I was looking into Lucy’s death.

So now he’s suspended me on the grounds that I’m too personally and emotionally involved with the case. A closed case at that. He thinks that I’ve “taken Lucy’s suicide quite hard” and that I “need some time to recover”.

I tried to explain the basis for my extra-curricular investigating but he just smiled sadly and put his hand on my shoulder. I asked him if he could at least have another analyst look at the timemap again and he agreed to have it double checked. I’m not sure if I believe him.

I still have had no word from the grunt. It’s most likely he’s the one who told Wilson.

Maybe Wilson’s right, maybe this has affected me more than I know. Maybe I need some time off.

At least I’ve stopped smoking again.

U+1F441

19th June 2021

Tonight was a welcome break. Alice invited me over for dinner with a few of Lucy’s friends, and some of the old guys from territorial. Pete and Joan were there, and some others I didn’t know.

God, it made me realise how much I miss that job. Since joining E.D. I’ve not had much of a life.

Alice showed us all a video of Lucy, drunk as a skunk, playing “Left-Hand Luce” – her version of T-Rex – on her battered, beautiful left-hand Les Paul.

I feel a bit queasy all of a sudden. Too many drinks, and I may have smoked a few cigarettes too. Time for bed.

Goodnight, Diary.

U+1F441

DH: This is E.D. Monitor David Hunt interviewing Walter Tyler. The date is the twenty-first of June, twenty-twenty-one. The time is eleven-oh-three. Is that correct, Walter?

WT: Why are you recording?

DH: All interviews are recorded, Walter, you should know E.D. protocol. Could you confirm your name and the date and time given.

WT: Am I under arrest?

DH: You’re on suspension pending further investigation due to your insubordination and unauthorised continued activity in the closed case of Officer Lucy Powell’s suicide.

[3 second interval]

Now, answer my questions. Is the time and date I’ve given correct?

WT: Yes.

DH: What was your relation to Officer Powell?

WT: We were colleagues. I worked alongside her in the territorial police before I was accepted into E.D.

DH: And what is your interest in her death?

WT: I do not believe it was suicide.

DH: And why is that?

WT: I knew Lucy Powell and I know she wouldn’t take her own life.

DH: When was the last time you spoke to Officer Powell?

[4 second interval]

WT: Shortly after I joined E.D., three years ago.

DH: Are you aware that her husband passed away on the twenty-second of May this year?

WT: I am.

DH: So you hadn’t spoken to Officer Powell in three years and yet you know she wouldn’t take her own life, despite also knowing of her loss?

WT: Yes. I knew Lucy. And I’ve spoken to her close friends and they were all shocked by the supposed suicide.

DH: I’m sure they were, as would most people be if a friend took their own life. It is a difficult thing to understand.

[2 second interval]

But that is not an adequate reason for your unauthorised investigation.

WT: There was an irregularity in the timemap at the time of the incident.

DH: A disruption, not an irregularity. Disruptions are common. GNSS signals cannot be one hundred per cent functional one hundred per cent of the time. It doesn’t change the fact that the timemap shows Officer Powell was alone at the time of her death.

WT: There was something else. I don’t know. I can’t place it. It’s intuition, maybe.

DH: Well, Walter, the criminal justice system is thankfully not based on subjective intuition but objective facts, evidence. All the evidence shows that Officer Lucy Powell committed suicide. Her husband had died two weeks previous. The gun was in her hand. There was a note. I have the report here, written by you.

[rustling of paper]

I am now showing Walter his report on the crime scene. It reads: “Officer Powell’s bedroom door was ajar. Inside, she lay upon the bed with a Glock 17 pistol in her right hand. She appeared to have committed suicide, the bullet passing through her right eye.”

WT: Wait, in her right hand?

DH: That’s what you’ve written.

WT: Lucy was left-handed.

DH: What?

WT: She was left-handed.

[2 second interval]

How did I not see that?

DH: Walter–

WT: This interview’s over, David.

[end of audio interview: 21/06/21: 1107]

U+1F441

The Daily Page

24/06/21

E.D. Monitor Arrested Over Murder of Police Officer Lucy Powell

The Metropolitan Elite Division has confirmed it is holding one of its own Monitors under the suspicion of murdering police officer Lucy Powell. Though initially believed to have committed suicide, left-handed Powell was found with the gun she was killed with in her right hand, and the timemap of the area appears to have been manipulated by someone with E.D. clearance.

It has been revealed to the Daily Page that the Monitor in question is Walter Tyler, who was once Powell’s colleague and intimate friend. It is believed that Tyler approached Powell after her husband’s tragic death earlier this year, but the events that led to her murder are unclear.

It is alleged that Tyler forced Powell to write a suicide note, murdered her, cleared himself from the timemap, and then investigated his own murder victim and closed the case as a suicide. Crime Scene Analyst Michael King identified the irregularity in the timemap and reported it to his superiors. Monitor David Hunt then took Tyler in for questioning, after which the Division felt they had sufficient evidence to charge him with Powell’s murder.

E.D.’s Chief of Operations, William Wilson, has said that “Justice will be done. Not even our Monitors are above the law.”

A trial date has not yet been set.

One thought on “Monitor

Leave a Reply

