Isla: Part II

It was smaller than I remembered: the shoreline was higher up the beach, and the rocks to the south seemed much closer than when I was a kid. I thought about how my brother and I used to go rockpooling, the crabs and little shrimp, and all the life left behind when the sea retreated.

I took Michael’s hand and led him onwards, towards the sea. I could feel the sun’s burning touch on my skin. Under the cover of shade, we lay together, reading our books and watching children play with their buckets and spades.

We decided to build our own castle, and spent hours fussing over the smallest details. And just as the evening came and the warmth of the day began to fade, we finished making our home, and left before we saw it swept away by the sea.


Part I

Part II

Part III

2 thoughts on “Isla: Part II

  1. Pingback: Isla: Part I | Samuel H. Birnie

  2. Pingback: Isla: Part III | Samuel H. Birnie

Leave a Reply

